Film Club (and election fiasco distraction)

lislis
edited May 2010 in General chat
hi - as a newbie i'm afraid i don't have much to contribute to either the knitting or the book club (the former i'm crap at the other i love but wouldn't keep the pace) so i wonder if anyone fancied the idea of a film club - quite simple - watch a moview / review / discuss / small heated arguments break out / drinks are bought / suggest a new one. thought it might be a) a nice way to get to know some of you nice peeps and b) genuinely interesting. plus it would involve drinks. anyone interested?

Comments

• edited 10:55PM
    Sounds like a great idea. I assume at someone's house? Prefer to meet at a pub first of course to meet prospective cinefiles. I'm already member of a book club, can't knit although have tried really don't have the patience for it!
  • lislis
    edited 10:55PM
    kinda thought we could watch the film individually, then pub to discuss as otherwise hard to coordinate - perhaps if it becomes an acclaimed film club with sponsorship we could then do socials / outings / premieres and the likes - let's see who else is in and glad you like the idea
    Interesting.
    Hi lis, sounds interesting. I go to the cinema a lot and I'd be interested in a film club, whatever form it took.

I've always wanted hoped some kind of small film pop up venue would set up in Stroud Green in a pub or something. It might be worth keeping an eye on Moors Bar on Park Road in Crouch End. They've shown some films there, and had discussions and things. At the moment they have films on Tuesdays with an environmental theme.
    Love the idea. Get twenty people and the back room of a bar and a film .... bliss. But where?
    Great idea! i'd be up for it!
    How about film based meals in local eating establishments.......... Tampopo....Japan Like water for chocollet..........Mexico You me,man,woman............Chinese Etc.