A nice building on Blackstock Road

edited February 2011 in Local discussion
I sat upstairs on the bus today, and from this new vantage point I noticed a building at the top end of Blackstock Road that had escaped my eagle eyes up to now. It's just as you go up the hill, before Highbury Vintners, on the right as you go travel from FP. It's possibly early Victorian/Georgian (I'm no expert) and is mostly hidden behind white hoardings. Any idea what it is/was?

Comments

• AliAli
    edited 6:32PM
    Is that or was a police station
  • edited February 2011
    Do you mean Loxford House (85 Highbury Park): <http://highburyeast.mycouncillor.org.uk/files/2008/06/08_09_0083-highbury-consultation_v3.pdf>; The NCH have moved out and it’s being restored and redeveloped: <http://www.islington.gov.uk/environment/planning/planningpol/plan_brief_major/pol_planbrief/85highburypark.asp>; The developer: <http://www.85highburypark.com/secure/login.aspx?ReturnUrl=/html/index.html&gt; One of the oldest surviving buildings in Highbury, and very handsome. Arky
  • edited 6:32PM
    That's the one, it's most handsome. I'd like to live there.
    I shall be interested to see how the developers interpret saving "as many of the trees as possible". My guess would be "as many as possible while packing the space with the maximum number of soulless hutches which, alas, was not very many".
    I was musing on Islington's inconsistent tree policy the other day. If a tree is alledged to be causing subsidence, regardless of the evidence and the tree's age and beauty, cut it down. On the other hand, if the preservation of a scrawny bush can be used as an excuse to prevent an eyesore being converted into an impressive new development, dance like a tree-hugger.