Virgin Broadband randomness

Comments

• Bah, lucky you! Am stuck in bed - tail end of a migraine - but trying to drag myself out of bed to find a dongle. Grmph. To think I'd only been hanging in there with VM because we were all about to have our speeds multiplied... Bah bah bah.
  • edited September 2012
    I just checked <a href="http://www.virginmedia.com/doublespeed">virginmedia.com/doublespeed</a> and entered my postcode (Evershot Road).  Apparently this is now scheduled for March 2013 - August 2013.<br>
  • I think  the network in our area was put in about 20 years ago so it is getting old.  A lot of it is very ropey so I am not surprised that there are problems
  • edited September 2012
    <p>It seems I also gave temptations to fate last night, our service has been down for hours now. And yes indeed, upgrade is delayed until March 13 - Aug 13...</p><p>As an IT engineer I am deeply disappointed by VM's service.</p>
  • RoyRoy
    edited September 2012
    The real problem dates back to the early days of cable - long before NTL, Telewest and Cable and Wireless bought out the small players.  I know one of the London cablecos in those days was Videotron - I don't know who the others were (I was in Cambridge at the time and had Cambridge Cable).  But a lot of the problems date back to the quality (or lack thereof) of what those companies originally put it, which, of course, varies widely.<br><br>Remember, too, that the early installations were designed for TV - they were not designed for broadband at all.  Cable broadband takes a network not designed for broadband and cleverly shoves broadband down it -  very much analogous to the way ADSL does with the phone network.<br><br>roy<br>