Hello - I'm a newbie!

edited April 2008 in Local discussion
Just thought I'd introduce myself!
My boyfriend and I have just moved into a flat in Florence Road and we love the area. Parkland Walk is wonderful. And I still can't get over the fact that we can get our milk and papers delivered. It's really been great living here so far.
Have been looking through some of your posts and was wondering whether any of you had ever done any research into the history of your home? Apparently an accountant used to live in our building, with his family, in 1891. So strange, thinking someone with a completely different sort of life actually lived within the same four walls!

Comments

• edited 4:19PM
    Yes, I have looked into the history of the house I'm living in. In 1891, the family who lived there had a dad who was a secretary to a public company and in 1901, a Miss Fysh lived of her own means. Jammy thing, I can't quite do that. I haven't looked after then and I know the house wasn't built in 1881. I must visit Bruce Castle or the Hornsey historical society to find out more.

The area is great, the house on the corner of Lorne Road/Florence Road used to be a school in the days when there were private tutors.

There's quite a bit of work going on at the Parkland Walk at the moment so you've come at a good time.

I get our milk delivered too but walk to the shop for my papers. I need to get out sometimes. The simple things in life.

Welcome to the area.
    @donnaw - are there any good, free sites to find out who lived there? I suppose you have to pay to get your milk and papers delivered.
    @ donnaw - welcome!

We did - we googled it, and a few years ago there was a shooting in the White Lion. The assailant ran into our block.

On a brighter note, it dates back to 1947, and the architect won an award for it.
    Welcome
    Pull up a chair
    Do not feed the tosscat
    Never realised you could get milk/papers delivered around here.

How do you go about arranging this?